Parliament Website

Iran Nuclear Deal

EDM number 1251 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 09/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Arms control, Iran, North America and Nuclear power.

That this House is deeply concerned by the decision of 8 May 2018 by the President of the United States of America to withdraw the US from the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) and re-impose economic sanctions on the Islamic Republic of Iran; is disappointed that this decision was made despite the International Atomic Energy Agency's confirmation that Iran is in full compliance with the JCPOA; believes that President Trump's decision will undermine progress towards the normalisation of relations between Iran and Western governments and will threaten peace, security, and stability in the Middle East; notes that the erosion of the JCPOA will serve to undermine international attempts to curb nuclear proliferation and could seriously hamper the opportunity to deliver a denuclearised Korean Peninsula; expresses regret about the damage this decision will do to the credibility of and trust in multilateral agreements; commends those countries, including the UK, that have reaffirmed their commitment to the JCPOA; and calls on the Government to use its influence in Washington to urge the US to reconsider its approach to the JCPOA and to uphold its commitments to the deal, Iran, and the wider region.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Caroline Lucas09/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Jonathan Edwards10/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Chris Stephens10/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham11/05/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts14/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Alex Sobel14/05/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Martyn Day14/05/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock14/05/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Kate Hollern14/05/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner14/05/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Alan Brown14/05/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Daniel Zeichner14/05/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan15/05/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon15/05/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Ben Lake15/05/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Tim Farron15/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Law15/05/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker15/05/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Mike Hill15/05/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard15/05/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald16/05/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/05/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams16/05/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Christine Jardine16/05/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin16/05/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Cryer16/05/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John Grogan16/05/2018Signed
Patrick Grady17/05/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George17/05/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Liz Twist17/05/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil21/05/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss21/05/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael22/05/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Jared O'Mara22/05/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Wera Hobhouse22/05/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer22/05/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Layla Moran22/05/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Lloyd23/05/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Twigg23/05/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Norman Lamb23/05/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Douglas Chapman24/05/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes24/05/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan24/05/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman04/06/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake04/06/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry04/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson05/06/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield06/06/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Henry Bellingham11/06/2018North West NorfolkConservativeSigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson14/06/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Anna Turley15/06/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hilary Benn18/06/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry12/07/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.