Parliament Website

UK Arms Exports To Israel

EDM number 1305 in 2017-19, proposed by Richard Burden on 22/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Arms control and Middle East.

That this House notes with concern that UK licences have been granted in the past two years for the export to Israel of categories of arms and arms components including sniper and assault rifles, pistols, weapon sights, targeting equipment, ammunition for small arms and grenades, smoke canisters, tanks, combat and military helicopters, military support and combat aircraft, and civil riot control protection equipment; believes that the Government must be accountable for the arms export licenses it grants; is therefore concerned that, in response to Questions in this House, Ministers have stated they do not collect data on the use of such equipment after sale; reminds the Government that criteria two and four of the consolidated criteria on arms exports precludes licensing where there is a risk that items must be used for internal repression or in the commission of a serious violation of international humanitarian law and considering the need not to affect adversely regional stability in any significant way and in the light of the extensive use of live fire by Israeli forces against Palestinians in Gaza; and therefore calls for a suspension of UK arms sales to Israel unless it can be demonstrated that weapons and components imported from the UK are used solely in accordance with the consolidated criteria.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs.

Richard Burden22/05/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourProposed
Andy Slaughter22/05/2018HammersmithLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris22/05/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Lisa Nandy22/05/2018WiganLabourSeconded
Seema Malhotra22/05/2018Feltham and HestonLabourSeconded
Debbie Abrahams23/05/2018Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSeconded
23/05/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens23/05/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff23/05/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards23/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas23/05/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Kate Green23/05/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Martyn Day23/05/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ann Clwyd24/05/2018Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Ruth George24/05/2018Signed
Kelvin Hopkins24/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Angela Crawley24/05/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens24/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard24/05/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
04/06/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner04/06/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick04/06/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Kate Hollern04/06/2018BlackburnLabourSigned
04/06/2018Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil04/06/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham04/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan04/06/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson04/06/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Tom Brake04/06/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown04/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock04/06/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Catherine West04/06/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/06/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman05/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
05/06/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon06/06/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn06/06/2018JarrowLabourSigned
06/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael06/06/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/06/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Norman Lamb06/06/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan07/06/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq07/06/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Jo Swinson11/06/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen11/06/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Chris Law11/06/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
11/06/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Marie Rimmer12/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
12/06/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
14/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Geraint Davies15/06/2018Swansea WestLabourSigned
Ian Lucas18/06/2018WrexhamLabourSigned
Mhairi Black20/06/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes25/06/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Bob Blackman25/06/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Stuart McDonald25/06/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady26/06/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart26/06/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty28/06/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry12/07/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.