Parliament Website

Volunteer Week 2018

EDM number 1323 in 2017-19, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 04/06/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Voluntary organisations.

That this House celebrates Volunteer Week 2018, which runs from 1 to 7 June, and commends the huge contribution that volunteers make to our society; recognises that volunteering contributes more than £22 billion to the UK economy, around 1.2% of GDP, and that in 2016-17 19.8 million people volunteered at least once a year, with 11.9 million people volunteering at least once a month; is proud of the fact that in North Ayrshire alone, an estimated 34,000 people, 30% of adults volunteer, contributing around 4.5 million hours of help and £62m to the local economy; acknowledges the range of organisations within the voluntary sector and celebrates the essential work these organisations do; notes that volunteering also benefits those who volunteer, with studies showing that volunteers are happier than those who do not and further notes that volunteering has a positive impact on health conditions such as depression and anxiety; also understands that volunteering can be an effective way for people to learn new skills, as well as to build self-esteem and confidence; and thanks every volunteer for the vital and selfless contribution they make to our society, which our communities could not do without.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Patricia Gibson04/06/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Peter Bottomley04/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Cunningham05/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Ronnie Cowan05/06/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Grahame Morris05/06/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Martyn Day05/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Bob Blackman05/06/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Tim Farron05/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon05/06/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson05/06/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Stewart McDonald06/06/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty06/06/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens06/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine06/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown07/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George07/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan07/06/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden07/06/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands07/06/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/06/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill11/06/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Bruce13/06/2018CongletonConservativeSigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon13/06/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Thelma Walker14/06/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman14/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Marsden14/06/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly20/06/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.