Parliament Website

Prison Officer Retirement Age

EDM number 1409 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 15/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Pensions and Prisons.

That this House commends the commitment, bravery and dedication shown by prison officers, who face challenging, dangerous and physically demanding working conditions on a daily basis; notes that the Prisons Act 1952 confirms that a serving prison officer shall have all the powers, authority, protection and privileges of a police constable; believes that the prison service must be treated as a uniformed service alongside the police service, fire service and armed forces; regrets that the retirement age for prison officers has risen to 68, compared to 60 for members of the other uniformed services; and calls on the Government to lower the retirement age for prison officers to 60 as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts15/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Gordon Henderson15/06/2018Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSeconded
Mohammad Yasin15/06/2018BedfordLabourSeconded
George Howarth15/06/2018KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Jamie Stone15/06/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Stephens15/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Teresa Pearce15/06/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Catherine West15/06/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Martyn Day18/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon18/06/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Marion Fellows18/06/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
John McNally18/06/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Lady Hermon19/06/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Tim Farron19/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham19/06/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards19/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Gavin Robinson20/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Mhairi Black20/06/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald20/06/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ruth George20/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle21/06/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Twigg21/06/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Christine Jardine21/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Cowan25/06/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper26/06/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer26/06/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse27/06/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Stevens28/06/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney02/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn05/07/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald06/07/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.