Parliament Website

Continued Detention Of Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe In Iran (No. 2)

EDM number 1452 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 25/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Iran, Nationality and Prisons.

That this House expresses concern for the arbitrary detention of dual nationals in Iran from the UK and other nations; stands in solidarity with recent petitions in the European Parliament, US Congress and Canadian Parliament echoing concerns for the treatment of dual nationals imprisoned in Iran; further expresses particular concern regarding the case of Ms Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe, a British dual national, who has been arbitrarily detained, has been kept in solitary confinement for over eight and a half months and has had numerous trials conducted in secret courts; expresses dismay that the UK Government has failed to acknowledge any violation of Ms Zaghari-Ratcliffe's rights; criticises the Government's silence when called upon to condemn the actions by the Iranian Government; recommends that the Government should make these representations based on human rights obligations; urges the Government to take a more proactive approach to identifying and intervening in cases where British nationals face grave human rights violations; urges the Government to improve levels of protection for UK nationals imprisoned abroad; and calls on the Government to state that in all cases involving British nationals imprisoned abroad, any threat of or actual torture or ill-treatment will not be tolerated and will be publicly condemned by the Government, and that human rights of UK dual nationals detained in Iran must be a redline in any future trade deals negotiated with Iran.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Tom Brake25/06/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Jim Cunningham25/06/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon25/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/06/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day25/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Tim Farron25/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jamie Stone25/06/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Brendan O'Hara25/06/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon25/06/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens25/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran25/06/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine25/06/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss25/06/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts25/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Patrick Grady25/06/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty25/06/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George25/06/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald26/06/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin26/06/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin26/06/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Helen Hayes27/06/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Edward Davey27/06/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gavin Robinson27/06/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson28/06/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker28/06/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas02/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Gordon Marsden04/07/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/07/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Ben Lake04/07/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon05/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Albert Owen10/07/2018Ynys MLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.