Parliament Website

Microplastic Pollution

EDM number 1470 in 2017-19, proposed by Catherine West on 02/07/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Pollution.

That this House notes with concern that microplastic pollution is potentially more environmentally damaging than larger pieces of plastic because small pieces of plastic are more likely to be eaten by wildlife and have a greater surface area which can transfer chemicals to and from the marine environment; welcomes the Government's legislation on microbeads; further notes that the wider issue of microplastic pollution cannot be set aside, and supports the Environmental Audit Committee's recommendations that the Government works towards a systematic strategy for researching and mitigating sources of microplastic pollution, particularly in relation to synthetic fibres which are shed from synthetic clothing when laundered; notes that there is little evidence on potential human health impacts of microplastic pollution; calls on the Government to set a timescale within which it will publish an assessment of the potential health impacts and any measures it intends to take as a response; and further calls on the Government to continue international cooperation to address microplastic pollution and take on a leading role in addressing the issue.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Catherine West02/07/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourProposed
Oliver Letwin02/07/2018West DorsetConservativeSeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle02/07/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley02/07/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Cunningham02/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon03/07/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Grahame Morris03/07/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens04/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill04/07/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ben Lake04/07/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Bob Blackman04/07/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/07/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Penning04/07/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Matt Western05/07/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon05/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Helen Hayes09/07/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Layla Moran09/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby10/07/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Albert Owen10/07/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/07/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Sandy Martin10/07/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer10/07/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Christine Jardine11/07/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake11/07/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon12/07/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Ruth George12/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas16/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Chris Law16/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse18/07/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael19/07/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hendrick19/07/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson23/07/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Glyn Davies04/09/2018MontgomeryshireConservativeSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.