Parliament Website

Annual International Day Commemorating The Victims And Survivors Of Religious Persecution

EDM number 1478 in 2017-19, proposed by Fiona Bruce on 03/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House is concerned about growing religious persecution of minority groups worldwide, which may amount to crimes against humanity, war crimes or even genocide; calls on the Government to better track such violations of the right to freedom of religion or belief and to consider developing strategic action plans to address such incidents before they reach the threshold of mass atrocities; and further calls on the Government to support a proposal for the establishment of an annual International Day Commemorating the Victims and Survivors of Religious Persecution, and to support the tabling of a UN General Assembly resolution for this, the proposed date being the 3 August each year, being the day when Daesh unleashed its genocidal campaign against the Yazidis in Sinjar, followed by a similar campaign against Christians and other religious minorities in the region and so engage the UN and its member states to strengthen their efforts to address religious persecution around the world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Fiona Bruce03/07/2018CongletonConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley03/07/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Simpson04/07/2018Upper BannDUPSeconded
Bob Blackman04/07/2018Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Jim Cunningham04/07/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Martin Docherty04/07/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day04/07/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson04/07/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Michael Penning05/07/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Jim Shannon05/07/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Jeremy Lefroy05/07/2018StaffordConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon05/07/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Brendan O'Hara05/07/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens05/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson09/07/2018Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Layla Moran09/07/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Girvan09/07/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Marie Rimmer10/07/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/07/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Christine Jardine11/07/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron12/07/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss12/07/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George12/07/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Mary Glindon12/07/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Alan Brown16/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Linden16/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas16/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Wera Hobhouse18/07/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn04/09/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.