Parliament Website

DWP Estate Office Closures

EDM number 154 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Stephens on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits administration, Central government and Unemployment.

That this House is deeply concerned at the announcement by the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) of the closure of almost one in 10 jobcentres; notes that only six of the original 78 earmarked for closure have been reprieved and two which were not under threat will now close; further notes that only 11 of the 80 planned to co-locate with local authorities have been given a reprieve; recognises that this will create difficulties in accessing services for many of the most vulnerable people and affects many areas of multiple deprivation; fears that this puts hundreds of staff at risk of redundancy; is disturbed to learn that the Department has not published any equality impact assessments or analyses; regrets that all but two back-of-house offices that were originally proposed for closure, as well as several corporate centre offices, are also to be closed; believes that those decisions will inevitably have a detrimental impact upon the communities affected; and calls on the Government to halt this ill-considered decimation of the DWP estate.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Chris Stephens11/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Mary Glindon11/07/2017North TynesideLabourSeconded
David Drew11/07/2017Seconded
Hugh Gaffney11/07/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hill11/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins11/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marion Fellows13/07/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald13/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden13/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty13/07/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day13/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Jo Stevens17/07/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
John McNally17/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss17/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon17/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Conor McGinn18/07/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/07/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan18/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams18/07/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Cryer18/07/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tommy Sheppard19/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Bill Esterson20/07/2017Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson20/07/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock05/09/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell05/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Sweeney05/09/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma05/09/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black11/09/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jared O'Mara09/10/2017Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Toby Perkins09/10/2017ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Sandy Martin17/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Anna McMorrin18/10/2017Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Chris Williamson25/01/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.