Parliament Website

Plastic Pollution In The Oceans

EDM number 157 in 2017-19, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Manufacturing industries, Marine environment, Pollution and Waste management.

That this House notes with concern that more than 8 million tons of plastic waste are dumped in the oceans every year; further notes that this pollution causes huge damage to ocean ecosystems, including fish, marine mammals and seabirds; notes that plastics in the ocean produce chemicals which are dangerous to marine life and, if ingested via seafood, also dangerous to humans; notes that even tiny remote islands such as Henderson Island have been found to be polluted with nearly 38 million pieces of plastic; believes that urgent action is required to stop this pollution; calls for an end to single use plastics and a requirement for all plastic packaging of products sold in the UK to be made of recycled plastic and fully recyclable; notes that the EU is currently drawing up plans for a circular economy which would require manufacturers to take more responsibility for recycling and reusing plastics; further calls on the Government to develop a similar strategy; and calls on the Government to ensure that, after Brexit, the UK's environmental standards remain at least as high as those of the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Roger Godsiff11/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
David Simpson17/07/2017Upper BannDUPSeconded
Gavin Robinson17/07/2017Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSeconded
John McNally17/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris17/07/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon17/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Tony Lloyd18/07/2017Signed
Matt Western18/07/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable20/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra20/07/2017Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle05/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin17/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Michael Penning18/12/2017Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.