Parliament Website

Ageing Tyres On Public Service Vehicles

EDM number 167 in 2017-19, proposed by Maria Eagle on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial health and safety, Roads and Standards.

That this House welcomes the launch of the Tyred campaign; recognises the outstanding work that Frances Molloy, mother of Michael Molloy, and the parents of Kerry Ogden have done to highlight the dangers of ageing tyres on public service vehicles; notes the tragic deaths of Michael Molloy, Kerry Ogden and Colin Daulby in September 2012 following an avoidable coach crash caused by a defective front tyre; acknowledges the inquest verdict that the cause of the crash was the age of the tyre; further acknowledges the coroner's verdict that tyres deteriorate significantly with age; further recognises that in the interests of passenger safety, tyres exceeding 10 years old should not be used on public service vehicles; accepts that compliance with Government guidelines published in December 2013, that advises operators against the use of tyres exceeding 10 years of age, is not guaranteed without legislation; recognises that a change in the law to ban the use of tyres over the age of 10 years is urgently required; and believes that the Government should take steps to ensure the use of tyres exceeding the age of 10 years on public service vehicles is prohibited under UK law.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

Maria Eagle11/07/2017Garston and HalewoodLabourProposed
Louise Ellman11/07/2017Liverpool, RiversideLabourSeconded
Dan Carden11/07/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Alison McGovern11/07/2017Wirral SouthLabourSeconded
Stephen Twigg11/07/2017Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSeconded
Angela Eagle11/07/2017WallaseyLabourSeconded
Luciana Berger11/07/2017Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hill13/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham13/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris17/07/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens17/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Conor McGinn17/07/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas17/07/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Jo Platt17/07/2017LeighLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth George17/07/2017High PeakLabourSigned
David Simpson17/07/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Ian Mearns17/07/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma17/07/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick17/07/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/07/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner18/07/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/07/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff18/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Geraint Davies20/07/2017Swansea WestLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra20/07/2017Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker20/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock20/07/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephanie Peacock20/07/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith05/09/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Mike Amesbury05/09/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves05/09/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick06/09/2017PrestonLabourSigned
Alex Sobel06/09/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Sandy Martin06/09/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper06/09/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Mary Glindon06/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Jack Dromey06/09/2017Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSigned
Kate Hollern06/09/2017BlackburnLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous06/09/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Lucy Powell06/09/2017Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Mary Creagh06/09/2017WakefieldLabourSigned
Preet Kaur Gill06/09/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Clive Lewis06/09/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Helen Hayes07/09/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Joan Ryan07/09/2017Signed
David Hanson07/09/2017DelynLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy11/09/2017WiganLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq12/09/2017Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Thelma Walker09/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman09/10/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin09/10/2017BedfordLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara09/10/2017Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty11/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Toby Perkins11/10/2017ChesterfieldLabourSigned
George Howarth11/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Anna Turley11/10/2017RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stuart McDonald16/10/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
David Amess16/10/2017Southend WestConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis16/10/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Douglas Chapman24/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer24/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Tim Farron04/12/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
James Frith16/04/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.