Parliament Website

Mp Staff Redundancy Payments

EDM number 17 in 2017-19, proposed by Ronnie Cowan on 21/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Employment and Members of Parliament.

That this House acknowledges the lack of financial support for hon. Members' staff members who have found themselves unemployed due to their hon. Member not being returned at the 2017 general election; notes that a number of hon. Members, first elected at the 2015 general election, did not retain their seats meaning that many of their staff will have worked less than two years, therefore will receive inadequate redundancy support from the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (IPSA); further notes the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 was created to provide a five-year period between general elections, therefore providing stability and reassurance for hon. Members' staff that they would have employment for five years; and believes that IPSA must look at the financial assistance that is being provided to staff and ensure that they are properly supported no matter the parliamentary term length.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Ronnie Cowan21/06/2017InverclydeScottish National PartyProposed
Gavin Newlands21/06/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray21/06/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry21/06/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman21/06/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell21/06/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford21/06/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty21/06/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan21/06/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie21/06/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally21/06/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/06/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard22/06/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart22/06/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant22/06/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald22/06/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting22/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens22/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon22/06/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Caroline Lucas26/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Flynn26/06/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson26/06/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Martyn Day26/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham26/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Paul Sweeney26/06/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald26/06/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
David Drew26/06/2017Signed
Rachael Maskell27/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gordon Marsden27/06/2017Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris28/06/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley28/06/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Kate Hoey28/06/2017VauxhallLabourSigned
Chris Law29/06/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Clive Lewis29/06/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon29/06/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Angela Crawley29/06/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman03/07/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Angus MacNeil03/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black05/07/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green05/07/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins06/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer18/07/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.