Parliament Website

Universal Credit And Disabled Children

EDM number 1741 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 23/10/2018.

That this House notes with concern that, under universal credit, at least 100,000 families with disabled children will be worse off by some £1,750 per year; notes that this is due to the lower rate of child disability addition being set at £29.10 per week, representing a 54 per cent cut to the equivalent additional payment of £62.86 per week under the existing benefits system; further notes that families with more than one disabled child will be even worse off, as the addition is paid for each disabled child; acknowledges that families with disabled children face a range of extra costs associated with disability and caring, as well as the challenge of combining complex care and work, and that as a result many such families are already struggling to afford basic essentials, such as food and heating, as evidenced by Contact's Counting the Costs 2018 research; believes that the reduction in the level of support under universal credit can only lead to increased hardship, debt, stress and ill-health; and calls on the Government to set the lower child disability addition at £62.86 per week so that families with disabled children receive at least the same level of support under universal credit as now.

This motion has been signed by a total of 94 MPs.

Caroline Lucas23/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Lisa Cameron23/10/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray23/10/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts23/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Layla Moran23/10/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ruth George23/10/2018High PeakLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham23/10/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
John McNally23/10/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams23/10/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff23/10/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss23/10/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Matt Western23/10/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter23/10/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Edward Davey23/10/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Helen Hayes23/10/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Jo Swinson23/10/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Field23/10/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
Kate Green23/10/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Ben Lake23/10/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/10/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lucy Powell23/10/2018Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard23/10/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting23/10/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan23/10/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald23/10/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
John Grogan23/10/2018Signed
Tom Brake23/10/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rushanara Ali23/10/2018Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas23/10/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson23/10/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Karen Buck23/10/2018Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Norman Lamb23/10/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper23/10/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards23/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle23/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Tim Farron23/10/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Law23/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner23/10/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael23/10/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Rupa Huq23/10/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
David Linden23/10/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Catherine West23/10/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield23/10/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Patrick Grady23/10/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham23/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ian Blackford23/10/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Tulip Siddiq23/10/2018Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna23/10/2018StreathamLabourSigned
Lady Hermon23/10/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Wera Hobhouse23/10/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Deidre Brock24/10/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Morgan24/10/2018Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Martyn Day24/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson24/10/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford24/10/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Jamie Stone24/10/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Ruth Cadbury24/10/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins24/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald24/10/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon24/10/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hill24/10/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd24/10/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner25/10/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Owen Smith25/10/2018PontypriddLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly25/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mary Glindon25/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg26/10/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil26/10/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Ian Murray26/10/2018Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown26/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry26/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens29/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Emma Reynolds29/10/2018Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands29/10/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mark Tami29/10/2018Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer29/10/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Martin Docherty30/10/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara30/10/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Luciana Berger30/10/2018Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth30/10/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Anna Turley30/10/2018RedcarLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Liz Twist30/10/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Christine Jardine30/10/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Angela Crawley31/10/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/11/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens01/11/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby01/11/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd05/11/2018Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn05/11/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Harriet Harman05/11/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Stewart Hosie12/11/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Catherine McKinnell12/11/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe12/11/2018Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.