Parliament Website

International Convention On The Protection Of Journalists And Media Professionals

EDM number 1747 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 23/10/2018.

That this House is shocked and appalled by reports of the brutal murder of Turkish journalist Jamal Khashoggi following his visit to the Saudi Arabian Consulate in Istanbul; notes that the killing of journalists is a global problem, with an average of two such deaths every week; further notes that UNESCO has reported that just one in 10 killings of journalists results in a successful prosecution; asserts that there is an unacceptable international climate of impunity that continues to have a detrimental impact on the safety of media workers, public interest journalism and the freedom of the press; calls on the Government to use its influence to seek out the truth about the killing of Jamal Khashoggi; and asks the Government to provide its full support for the draft UN Convention on the Protection of Journalists and Media Professionals proposed by the International Federation of Journalists and endorsed by the National Union of Journalists.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts23/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Chris Stephens23/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon24/10/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley24/10/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards24/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Cunningham24/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle24/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gordon Marsden25/10/2018Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner25/10/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Mary Glindon25/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Martyn Day25/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Williamson25/10/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald25/10/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Williams25/10/2018Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon25/10/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Alex Cunningham25/10/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara25/10/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens25/10/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas25/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alison Thewliss26/10/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes29/10/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Julian Lewis29/10/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Chris Law29/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd29/10/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Patrick Grady29/10/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman30/10/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Ruth George05/11/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Emma Reynolds13/11/2018Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara19/11/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.