Parliament Website

Andy Tsege

EDM number 194 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 17/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Africa, International politics and government and Prisons.

That this House expresses grave concern regarding the case of Mr Andy Tsege, a British national who is currently illegally and arbitrarily imprisoned in Ethiopia; expresses its worry for the health and safety of Mr Tsege, who at times has been kept in solitary confinement, has been tortured and ill-treated in detention and has faced attacks in prison; urges the Government to secure the immediate return of Mr Tsege; calls on the Government to ensure that Mr Tsege's case is raised in all private discussions with the Ethiopian authorities to ensure regular consular access in private and contact with his family in London; notes that the Ethiopian Government has said that Mr Tsege is unable to appeal his death sentence and that calls for access to a lawyer for Mr Tsege are not an effective substitute for seeking his immediate return; urges the Government to take a more proactive approach to identifying and intervening in cases where British nationals face human rights violations abroad; and further calls on the Government to state that in all cases regarding British nationals imprisoned abroad, any threat of or actual torture and mistreatment will not be tolerated and will be publicly condemned by the Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Tom Brake17/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley17/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon18/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day18/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins18/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Gavin Robinson18/07/2017Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens18/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Vincent Cable19/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona Bruce19/07/2017CongletonConservativeSigned
Tommy Sheppard20/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Helen Hayes05/09/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson07/09/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
David Linden11/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss12/09/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Catherine West19/10/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.