Parliament Website

Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe

EDM number 195 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 17/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Middle East and Prisons.

That this House expresses grave concern regarding the case of Ms Nazanin Zaghari-Ratcliffe, a British dual national, who is currently arbitrarily detained in Iran; is worried for the health and safety of Ms Zaghari-Ratcliffe, who at times has been kept in solitary confinement and has been kept from seeing her now three-year-old daughter; supports the UN statement calling for the immediate and unconditional release of Ms Zaghari-Ratcliffe and other British-Iranian dual nationals arbitrarily detained in Iran; urges the Government to publicly call for the immediate release of Ms Zaghari-Ratcliffe; calls on the Government to ensure that Ms Zaghari-Ratcliffe’s case is raised in all private discussions with the Iranian authorities, to ensure consular access and secure her release; further urges the Government to take a more proactive approach to identifying and intervening in cases where British nationals face human rights violations; and calls on the Government to state that in all cases involving British nationals imprisoned abroad, any threat of or actual torture and mistreatment will not be tolerated and will be publicly condemned by the Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Tom Brake17/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Ruth George17/07/2017High PeakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon18/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day18/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally18/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards18/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd18/07/2017Signed
Kelvin Hopkins18/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson18/07/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Layla Moran18/07/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Stephens18/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell19/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable19/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona Bruce19/07/2017CongletonConservativeSigned
Caroline Lucas19/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ronnie Cowan20/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss20/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Anna McMorrin20/07/2017Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael05/09/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Kinnock05/09/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves05/09/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Helen Hayes05/09/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan06/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson07/09/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
David Linden11/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Catherine West19/10/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry23/04/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.