Parliament Website

Save The #classof2018

EDM number 309 in 2017-19, proposed by Norman Lamb on 12/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Children and families, Death and Mental health.

That this House welcomes World Suicide Prevention Day, which took place on 10 September 2017 to raise awareness and promote worldwide action to prevent suicides; recognises that suicide is the biggest killer of young people, male and female, aged under 35 in the UK; is deeply concerned that over 200 children of school age die by suicide every year in the UK, and believes that this is a national tragedy; supports the launch of national charity PAPYRUS Prevention of Young Suicide's campaign to Save The #ClassOf2018, to raise awareness of the scale of suicide in schoolchildren and build suicide-safer schools and colleges; welcomes the charity's new suicide prevention guide for teachers and school staff as part of this campaign, covering issues including language around suicide, identifying if a child is suicidal, intervention and postvention, to equip staff with the skills and confidence needed to support children who may be experiencing suicidal thoughts; affirms that suicide is not inevitable and can be prevented; and urges the Government to pledge its support for the Save The #ClassOf2018 campaign as part of a national Zero Suicides strategy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Norman Lamb12/09/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratProposed
Jim Shannon13/09/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/09/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Chris Stephens13/09/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins13/09/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Martyn Day14/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Matt Western14/09/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard14/09/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law14/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran14/09/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Linden09/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman09/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin09/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Catherine McKinnell09/10/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle10/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gavin Robinson10/10/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
George Howarth10/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss11/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris11/10/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer11/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Neil Gray11/10/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis12/10/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Ruth George17/10/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins26/10/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.