Parliament Website

Cuts To Legal Aid Since 2013

EDM number 369 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 11/10/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Legal aid.

That this House is deeply concerned by growing evidence, including reports by Amnesty International and the Law Society, that cuts to legal aid since April 2013, under the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Act 2012 (LASPO), have left thousands of the most disadvantaged in society, including children and people with learning disabilities, without the legal advice and support essential to access justice and equality before the law; notes that, in the first year after LASPO came into force, the number of cases in which legal aid was granted fell by 46 per cent from 925,000 to 497,000; further notes that the number of legal aid providers has fallen by 20 per cent from 2,991 to 2,393, leading to the emergence of advice deserts across England and Wales where the provision of free legal advice is disappearing, especially in housing law; shares the view of the Law Society, as expressed in its June 2017 report, Access denied? LASPO four years on, that LASPO has severely undermined access to justice and that this is resulting in the escalation of legal problems and knock-on costs elsewhere in the public sector; welcomes the Government's commitment to undertake a wholsesale review of the impact of LASPO by April 2018; and calls on the Government both to ensure that the review assesses the wider impact of LASPO on public services and to commence and conclude the review as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 83 MPs.

Caroline Lucas11/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Karen Buck11/10/2017Westminster NorthLabourSeconded
Andy Slaughter11/10/2017HammersmithLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts11/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Peter Bottomley11/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Edward Davey11/10/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chuka Umunna11/10/2017StreathamLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty11/10/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq11/10/2017Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner11/10/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse11/10/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
James Frith11/10/2017Bury NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Duffield11/10/2017CanterburyLabourSigned
Lucy Powell11/10/2017Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael11/10/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn11/10/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker11/10/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Jo Swinson11/10/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes11/10/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce11/10/2017Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff11/10/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves11/10/2017Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
John Grogan11/10/2017Signed
Hywel Williams11/10/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Louise Ellman11/10/2017Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Tom Brake11/10/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rupa Huq11/10/2017Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham11/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi11/10/2017GowerLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali11/10/2017Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Christine Jardine11/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jamie Stone11/10/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz11/10/2017Leicester EastLabourSigned
Sandy Martin11/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Helen Hayes11/10/2017Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma11/10/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards11/10/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Harriet Harman11/10/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy11/10/2017WiganLabourSigned
Tim Farron11/10/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jess Phillips11/10/2017Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock11/10/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock11/10/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas11/10/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Kate Green11/10/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg11/10/2017Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Layla Moran11/10/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Catherine West11/10/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Alex Sobel11/10/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Farrelly11/10/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Neil Coyle11/10/2017Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra11/10/2017Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Frank Field11/10/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Ben Lake11/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Clive Lewis11/10/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell11/10/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin11/10/2017BedfordLabourSigned
Luciana Berger11/10/2017Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Ruth George11/10/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Norman Lamb11/10/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Conor McGinn11/10/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
David Lammy11/10/2017TottenhamLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous11/10/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Emma Dent Coad11/10/2017KensingtonLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara11/10/2017Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd11/10/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd11/10/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Shannon12/10/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss12/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jo Stevens16/10/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mike Amesbury16/10/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner16/10/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Hilary Benn16/10/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer17/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Hugh Gaffney20/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn23/10/2017JarrowLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman24/10/2017HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Thelma Walker31/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.