Parliament Website

Ongoing Imprisonment Of Raif Badawi

EDM number 37 in 2017-19, proposed by Stewart McDonald on 21/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, Middle East and Prisons.

That this House recognises the unjust arrest of Raif Badawi on 17 June 2014 and his subsequent imprisonment in Saudi Arabia for championing free speech and freedom of expression; notes that he is now beginning his 5th year of a 10-year prison sentence; further notes that Mr Badawi is also facing a 10-year travel ban and a 10-year ban from participating in visual, electronic and written media after his release; further recognises the wrongful arrest and imprisonment of Mr Badawi's lawyer, Waleed Abu aI-Khair, who is also serving a 15-year sentence for his human rights activism; is concerned at the punishment and inhumane treatment that Mr Badawi and Mr Abu aI-Khair have been subjected to; continues to strongly support his right to freedom of expression and that of all Saudi Arabian citizens; calls on the Government to press King Salman bin Abdulaziz to release Raif Badawi and Waleed Abu aI-Khair from prison so that they may be reunited with their families; and urges the Government to challenge and condemn Saudi Arabia's concerning record on press freedom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Stewart McDonald21/06/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon22/06/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens22/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins22/06/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Pete Wishart22/06/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden22/06/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell22/06/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/06/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting22/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard22/06/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan22/06/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas26/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Paul Flynn26/06/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew26/06/2017Signed
Martyn Day26/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally26/06/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/06/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford26/06/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald26/06/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham26/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/06/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Patrick Grady27/06/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara27/06/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan27/06/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff28/06/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon29/06/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Clive Lewis29/06/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Angela Crawley29/06/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant04/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray04/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins06/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael10/07/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Joanna Cherry13/07/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Murray02/11/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Tom Brake20/02/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.