Parliament Website

Role Of Dfid In Providing Baseload Energy To Developing Countries

EDM number 44 in 2017-19, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 22/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Electricity, Energy and International development.

That this House is concerned that an estimated 1.2 billion people worldwide remain without electricity; acknowledges that in many developing countries this compounds the problems of disease, poor education and illegal migration; regrets that the UN target for universal access to energy by 2030 will be missed and that energy poverty is still growing in parts of Africa; understands that reliable, safe and affordable baseload energy is essential to help developing countries to grow their economies and become future trading partners; accepts that they will need to use all available resources, including coal and gas, alongside renewables, to meet their future energy needs; recalls that consequently the International Energy Agency has forecast that the amount of electricity generated by fossil fuels in non-OECD countries will inevitably increase; recognises that the latest technologies can substantially reduce emissions and carbon capture can remove over 90 per cent of greenhouse gas emissions playing a vital role in tackling climate change and meeting the Paris Agreement targets whilst still allowing developing nations to access cheap and reliable power essential to lift millions out of energy poverty; notes that there is a risk that developing nations may choose to deploy older, more polluting technology, due to financing restrictions on new fossil fuel plants; and calls upon the Government to prioritise international aid to enable developing nations to choose the latest technology when utilising their fossil fuel resources, and to encourage further research to make it increasingly attractive, in addition to supporting new renewables projects.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Virendra Sharma22/06/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Paul Sweeney26/06/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham26/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Martyn Day26/06/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens26/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon26/06/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Rachael Maskell27/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lisa Cameron27/06/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
David Linden27/06/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan27/06/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards27/06/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Wes Streeting28/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff28/06/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley28/06/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Law29/06/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes29/06/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
John McNally29/06/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon29/06/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth19/07/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/09/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.