Parliament Website

Blue Badge Scheme And Non-Physical Disabilities

EDM number 478 in 2017-19, proposed by Norman Lamb on 31/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Disability discrimination, Equality, Mental health and Roads.

That this House notes with concern that Blue Badge applications are regularly refused for people with mental health conditions, including those who suffer from severe agoraphobia and panic attacks, even in cases where this causes severe difficulty in walking; further notes that non-physical disabilities can be profoundly debilitating and traumatic, and that failure to offer appropriate support and assistance can result in people becoming housebound and isolated; believes that people who suffer from restricted mobility should be treated equally in Blue Badge assessments, regardless of the nature of their condition or disability; and calls on the Government to amend the rules and guidance of the Blue Badge Scheme to end the disadvantage suffered by those with non-physical conditions, and to ensure that local authorities fully understand their obligations in respect of those persons.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Norman Lamb31/10/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratProposed
David Simpson01/11/2017Upper BannDUPSeconded
Jim Shannon01/11/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Michael Penning01/11/2017Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
Gavin Robinson01/11/2017Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens01/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon01/11/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/11/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham02/11/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tim Farron02/11/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugh Gaffney02/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Bob Blackman02/11/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Caroline Lucas03/11/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ruth George16/11/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Ian Mearns16/11/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman04/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran12/03/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.