Parliament Website

NHS Bursaries

EDM number 50 in 2017-19, proposed by Grahame Morris on 26/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Health staff and professions, Loans and Students.

That this House appreciates the invaluable work nurses, midwives and allied healthcare professionals do to keep the NHS running; is alarmed by the Government's plans to replace the current NHS bursary with a loans scheme which will place even greater strain on the system and those wishing to train; notes that a nurse's starting salary is £21,692, which is over the student loan repayment threshold, so nurses would begin paying £51,600 of debt, almost seven times the current level, as soon as they graduate; urges the Government to realise that student nurses find themselves with longer academic years than other students, many spending their time on unpaid clinical placements often far away from their homes, leaving little opportunity for them to mitigate their economic circumstances; and calls on the Government to listen to the overwhelming views of the Royal College of Nursing, a coalition of more than 20 charities, trade unions, including UNITE and Unison, and student nurses themselves to halt its plans for these changes in the interests on the NHS.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Grahame Morris26/06/2017EasingtonLabourProposed
Mike Hill26/06/2017HartlepoolLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens26/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stephanie Peacock26/06/2017Barnsley EastLabourSeconded
Rupa Huq26/06/2017Ealing Central and ActonLabourSeconded
Rachael Maskell27/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Stuart McDonald27/06/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law27/06/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson27/06/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/06/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon27/06/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Jo Stevens27/06/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner27/06/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham27/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Williamson28/06/2017Derby NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson28/06/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Wes Streeting28/06/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Emma Hardy28/06/2017Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Laura Smith29/06/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Clive Lewis29/06/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas29/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Lady Hermon29/06/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Gapes29/06/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Drew29/06/2017Signed
Thelma Walker29/06/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
John Spellar29/06/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker03/07/2017GedlingLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil03/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Kate Hollern03/07/2017BlackburnLabourSigned
Neil Gray04/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer04/07/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Alan Brown04/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant04/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry04/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alex Norris04/07/2017Nottingham NorthLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Faisal Rashid05/07/2017Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Ruth George05/07/2017High PeakLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Sandy Martin09/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.