Parliament Website

Srebrenica Genocide And The Ratko Mladic Verdict

EDM number 637 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 04/12/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Military operations.

That this House notes the guilty verdict against Bosnian Serb army commander Ratko Mladic for directing the Srebrenica genocide; welcomes that Mladic has finally been brought to justice 22 years after the genocide he oversaw from 11 to 22 July 1995; further notes that 8,372 Bosnian Muslim men and boys were murdered in and around Srebrenica by Bosnian Serb forces; notes that while 6,504 of the victims have been buried, over 1,800 victims have still not been found or buried; commends the tireless and ongoing work of the Missing Persons Institute of Bosnia and Herzegovina in trying to find more victims; further commends the Mothers of Srebrenica group for its campaigning and the Srebrenica-Potocari Memorial for honouring the victims; gives its full support to the excellent work done across the UK by the Remembering Srebrenica charity; praises the dignity and determination of all survivors to rebuild their lives; and hopes that the guilty verdict against Mladic can help bring them some closure.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Tom Brake04/12/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley04/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon05/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Christine Jardine05/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Edward Davey05/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Stephens05/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law06/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle12/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon13/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.