Parliament Website

Application And Enforcement Of The National Minimum Wage For Seafarers

EDM number 654 in 2017-19, proposed by Alistair Carmichael on 06/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Industrial relations, Pay and Shipping.

That this House supports the application and enforcement of National Minimum Wage (NMW) pay rates for seafarers in the UK shipping industry; notes that the Legal Working Group on Seafarers and the NMW, including maritime trade unions and Government, completed its work on 1 November 2017; looks forward to the Group's recommendations; welcomes the Shipping Minister's decision to reconvene the Group and its recommendation for enforceable legislation that equalises seafarers' NMW rights on UK Continental Shelf routes with those of land based transport workers; further notes the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy's responsibility for NMW policy, including application and enforcement by HM Revenue and Customs; further supports the RMT's call for an end to the exploitation of foreign ratings in the UK shipping industry; and calls on the Government to take immediate legislative steps on receipt of the Legal Working Group's recommendation, ahead of the new NMW rates effective from1 April 2018.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Alistair Carmichael06/12/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratProposed
Ian Mearns06/12/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris06/12/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Chris Stephens06/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts06/12/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Albert Owen06/12/2017Ynys MLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley06/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham06/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon07/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Tim Farron07/12/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Stevens07/12/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan07/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day07/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake07/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas11/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward Davey11/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McNally12/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey12/12/2017VauxhallLabourSigned
Frank Field12/12/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Hill12/12/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
John Cryer12/12/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle12/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Paul Flynn13/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara13/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Conor McGinn13/12/2017St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Morgan14/12/2017Portsmouth SouthLabourSigned
Christine Jardine18/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Doughty18/12/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Chris Law18/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson16/04/2018East AntrimDUPSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.