Parliament Website

Chinese Labour Corps

EDM number 659 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Timms on 06/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Military operations and Western Europe.

That this House commemorates the centenary of the First World War, pays tribute to the 96,000 men of the Chinese Labour Corps, of whom the first arrived in France in April 1917; notes their extraordinary sacrifices in support of front line allied troops, and that over 2000 died; further notes that they dug trenches, buried the dead, cleared shells, built and operated military railways, maintained and supported tanks and aircraft which were decisive in Britain's war effort, and helped build the cemeteries around the Somme after the War; regrets that their contribution was largely overlooked afterwards and has never been properly commemorated; and welcomes the planned permanent memorial to their toil and sacrifice in ABP's new business district at Royal Albert Dock in the London Borough of Newham.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Stephen Timms06/12/2017East HamLabourProposed
Lyn Brown06/12/2017West HamLabourSeconded
Mike Gapes06/12/2017Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Wes Streeting06/12/2017Ilford NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham06/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley06/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon06/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ben Lake07/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day07/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward Davey11/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer12/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Chris Stephens12/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson12/12/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick13/12/2017Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/12/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tim Farron18/12/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Lloyd19/12/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake08/01/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson15/01/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.