Parliament Website

Detention Of Jagtar Singh Johal In India

EDM number 661 in 2017-19, proposed by Jim Cunningham on 06/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Human rights and Prisons.

That this House notes the concerns of Sikh communities across the UK regarding the circumstances of the detention of Jagtar Singh Johal on 4 November 2017 in India; believes that there should be no place for the use of torture or mistreatment anywhere in the world; is concerned about reports that Mr Johal has been subjected to torture; is aware that the British High Commission raised Mr Johal's case with the Indian authorities as soon as it was notified of his detention and pressed for consular access calls on the Government to work closely with the Indian authorities to investigate the circumstances of this case and take any necessary action if it is found that a British citizen is being tortured; and acknowledges and supports the tremendous efforts his local MP, the hon. Member for West Dunbartonshire, has made in trying to obtain justice for his constituent.

This motion has been signed by a total of 77 MPs.

Jim Cunningham06/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourProposed
Khalid Mahmood06/12/2017Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
John McNally06/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris06/12/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi07/12/2017SloughLabourSigned
Jim Shannon07/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day07/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens07/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard11/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael11/12/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Philippa Whitford11/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Ged Killen11/12/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Bill Grant11/12/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockConservativeSigned
Chris Law11/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Seema Malhotra11/12/2017Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan11/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald11/12/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald11/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Preet Kaur Gill11/12/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jo Swinson11/12/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins11/12/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss11/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty11/12/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Whitfield11/12/2017East LothianLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Neil Gray11/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock11/12/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara11/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil11/12/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Paul Flynn13/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell13/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/12/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
John Spellar14/12/2017WarleyLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands14/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron14/12/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson18/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford18/12/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman18/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine18/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown19/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
John Grogan20/12/2017Seconded
Caroline Lucas20/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
John Cryer20/12/2017Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Catherine West20/12/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Matt Western08/01/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes08/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry08/01/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz08/01/2018Leicester EastLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth08/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson08/01/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ruth Cadbury08/01/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous08/01/2018Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly08/01/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Patrick Grady08/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mohammad Yasin08/01/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Tim Farron08/01/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Sammy Wilson08/01/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Gareth Thomas08/01/2018Harrow WestLabourSigned
Tom Brake09/01/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mhairi Black09/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Sweeney10/01/2018Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson10/01/2018Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Kirsty Blackman15/01/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Faisal Rashid15/01/2018Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts16/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hugh Gaffney18/01/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Luke Graham18/01/2018Ochil and South PerthshireConservativeSigned
Ivan Lewis23/01/2018Bury SouthLabourSigned
Eddie Hughes30/01/2018Walsall NorthConservativeSigned
Jamie Stone31/01/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Cruddas21/02/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Angela Crawley05/11/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.