Parliament Website

Recognition Of Jerusalem As The Capital Of Israel

EDM number 665 in 2017-19, proposed by Tommy Sheppard on 06/12/2017.

That this House notes with dismay that Donald Trump, President of the USA, has declared that the US has formally recognised Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and that the US Embassy in Israel will relocate from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem; further notes that no other country currently has an embassy in Jerusalem, and the international community, including the US until now, does not recognise Israel's jurisdiction over and ownership of the Eastern part of that city; acknowledges Jerusalem's status as an extremely sensitive aspect of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict which it considers will be antagonised by this move; further acknowledges that the final status of Jerusalem is to be determined by negotiation; notes that East Jerusalem is intended to be the capital of a future Palestinian state, but that East Jerusalem is currently occupied by Israel; considers that this decision was taken against the advice of a wide range of world leaders and breaks with years of precedent; further considers that the announcement itself may lead to unrest in the Middle East and that the longer term consequences are unpredictable; condemns in the strongest possible terms what it considers to be a rash, unnecessary and deliberately inflammatory act, and one which destroys the US's credibility as an honest broker in the Middle East Peace Process; and calls on world leaders to put pressure on the President to reverse this ill-advised decision.

This motion has been signed by a total of 78 MPs.

Tommy Sheppard06/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartyProposed
Crispin Blunt06/12/2017ReigateConservativeSeconded
Marie Rimmer06/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Joanna Cherry06/12/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Andy Slaughter06/12/2017HammersmithLabourSeconded
Desmond Swayne06/12/2017New Forest WestConservativeSeconded
Richard Burden06/12/2017Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Hywel Williams06/12/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Brendan O'Hara06/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Kate Hollern07/12/2017BlackburnLabourSigned
Chris Stephens07/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John Grogan07/12/2017Signed
Philippa Whitford07/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris07/12/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Clive Betts07/12/2017Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner07/12/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Jo Swinson07/12/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Stevens07/12/2017Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman07/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas07/12/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Chris Law07/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald07/12/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards07/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ben Lake07/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day07/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan07/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart07/12/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally07/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner07/12/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald11/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas11/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ian Lucas11/12/2017WrexhamLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick11/12/2017PrestonLabourSigned
George Howarth11/12/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Layla Moran11/12/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Grant11/12/2017Ayr, Carrick and CumnockConservativeSigned
Martin Docherty11/12/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ruth George11/12/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock11/12/2017North West DurhamLabourSigned
Jess Phillips11/12/2017Birmingham, YardleyLabourSigned
Kate Green11/12/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham11/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury11/12/2017Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Thelma Walker12/12/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Geraint Davies12/12/2017Swansea WestLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle12/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Angela Crawley13/12/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon13/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara13/12/2017Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Jamie Stone13/12/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi13/12/2017GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/12/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael13/12/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn13/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Matt Western14/12/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Faisal Rashid14/12/2017Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Tom Brake14/12/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd14/12/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse14/12/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Christine Jardine18/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Gavin Newlands18/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie19/12/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Clive Lewis19/12/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Albert Owen20/12/2017Ynys MLabourSigned
Ian Murray20/12/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock21/12/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alison McGovern08/01/2018Wirral SouthLabourSigned
James Frith09/01/2018Bury NorthLabourSigned
William Wragg11/01/2018Hazel GroveConservativeSigned
Tim Farron15/01/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Marion Fellows22/01/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes29/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Patrick Grady06/02/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.