Parliament Website

Adoption Allowance For Self Employed People

EDM number 671 in 2017-19, proposed by Philippa Whitford on 07/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Child support, Children and families, Children's social services and Family benefits.

That this House recognises that people who adopt do so out of love and care and ought to receive parity in financial support to that of birth parents; further recognises that though there is such parity for employees, there is an unjustifiable inequality in financial support for self employed adopters; criticises the current system which offers no financial support for the self employed during adoption leave, unless the adopter qualifies for a discretionary payment through local authority means-testing; acknowledges that the financial strain incurred during adoption leave may reduce the number of potential adopters who are self employed; and, in recognition of the need for more adoptive parents, calls for the self employed to be included among those who qualify for adoption allowance and that the allowance should be brought into line with the maternity allowance, as recommended to the Government in February 2016 in the self-employment review by Julie Deane.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Philippa Whitford07/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss07/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant07/12/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry07/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Douglas Chapman07/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally07/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady07/12/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/12/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock07/12/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan07/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day11/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden11/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley11/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Edward Davey11/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon12/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer12/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Chris Stephens12/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson12/12/2017Belfast EastDUPSigned
Layla Moran12/12/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson12/12/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Paul Flynn13/12/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara13/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Matt Western14/12/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Thelma Walker14/12/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson18/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law18/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands18/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.