Parliament Website

Sikh Soldiers In Ww1

EDM number 672 in 2017-19, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 11/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Asia, Military operations and Religion and faith communities.

That this House notes the contribution of Sikh soldiers in the First World War when over 138,000 Indian troops fought in Belgium and France, many of them Sikh; recognises that more than one-quarter of these soldiers would become casualties; further notes that in March 1915, Sikh troops, along with counterparts from around the British Empire, fought in the bloody battle of Neuve Chapelle, with many making the ultimate sacrifice; further recognises that Sikh regiments lost nearly four-fifths of their men, and three regiments stood at only 16 per cent of their original strength; and urges the Government to support the erection of a permanent monument in central London to highlight and commemorate their brave actions and grave losses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Virendra Sharma11/12/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley11/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Cunningham12/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon12/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Ben Lake12/12/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Gavin Robinson12/12/2017Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Martyn Day12/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer12/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Bob Blackman13/12/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens13/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon13/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Matt Western14/12/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Chris Law18/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan18/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden19/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Edward Davey19/12/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Neil Gray19/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes20/12/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson20/12/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Julian Lewis20/12/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Alison Thewliss20/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Evans09/01/2018Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Preet Kaur Gill09/01/2018Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Mohammad Yasin09/01/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter10/01/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
David Amess10/01/2018Southend WestConservativeSigned
Ruth Smeeth11/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield15/01/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson16/01/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Rosie Cooper22/01/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury29/01/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.