Parliament Website

Parliamentary Awards For Contribution To Science 2017

EDM number 674 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Metcalfe on 11/12/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House notes the Christmas Reception for Science and Engineering held on 6 December 2017; congratulates the Royal Society of Biology for its leadership on behalf of the science and engineering community working closely with the Physiological Society, the Institute of Physics, the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Biochemical Society, the British Pharmacological Society, the Geological Society, the Society for Applied Microbiology, the Royal Society of Chemistry, the British Ecological Society, the Nutrition Society and the Society for Experimental Biology; further notes that these societies created the Parliamentary Award for Contribution to Science; notes that this has been awarded to the hon. Member for Mid Norfolk, the right hon. the Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, the Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve and the Lord Oxburgh; notes that the Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Cause of Science was given to the former hon. Member for Bolton South-East from 1997 to 2010, Dr Brian Iddon; and applauds the work of all scientific societies in seeking to build better links between the science community and all right hon. and hon. Members to the benefit of the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Stephen Metcalfe11/12/2017South Basildon and East ThurrockConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley11/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon12/12/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Marie Rimmer12/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Lady Hermon12/12/2017North DownIndependentSeconded
Bob Blackman13/12/2017Harrow EastConservativeSeconded
Carol Monaghan13/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd14/12/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Penning18/12/2017Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
David Crausby19/12/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham19/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Linden19/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes20/12/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.