Parliament Website

Disabled Workers And Productivity

EDM number 698 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 14/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Disability discrimination, Employment and Equality.

That this House warmly welcomes the Government's commitment, set out in the new employment strategy for disabled people, Improving Lives: the Future of Work, Health and Disability, to see one million more disabled people in work over the next 10 years; shares the Government's belief that the world of work should be open to all who want and have the capacity to work; notes with deep concern that the disability employment gap has remained static at 30 percentage points for more than a decade, and that too many disabled people continue to face barriers to entering, staying and progressing in employment, unable to fulfil their potential and participate fully in the UK economy; deeply regrets the comment of the Chancellor of the Exchequer when giving oral evidence to the Treasury Committee on 6 December 2017, that it is almost certainly the case that, by increasing participation in the workforce, including far higher levels of participation by marginal groups and very high levels of engagement in the workforce, for example, by disabled people, which is something everyone should be extremely proud of, the Government may have had an impact on the overall productivity measurement; fears the adverse impact that this factually inaccurate and deeply harmful comment will have on disabled people's chances of entering and staying in work; and calls on the Chancellor to clarify or retract his comment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 59 MPs.

Caroline Lucas14/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Lisa Cameron14/12/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Nandy14/12/2017WiganLabourSeconded
Stephen Lloyd14/12/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts14/12/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Clive Lewis14/12/2017Norwich SouthLabourSeconded
Drew Hendry14/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green14/12/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas14/12/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Karen Buck14/12/2017Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/12/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day18/12/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham18/12/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Law18/12/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan18/12/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands18/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran18/12/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Docherty18/12/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford18/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry18/12/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman18/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald18/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson18/12/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi18/12/2017GowerLabourSigned
Neil Gray18/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
John McNally18/12/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan18/12/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
David Linden19/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer19/12/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Matt Western19/12/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard19/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chuka Umunna20/12/2017StreathamLabourSigned
Lady Hermon20/12/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alison Thewliss20/12/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle20/12/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/12/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine21/12/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon21/12/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Ben Lake09/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams11/01/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Mearns19/01/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Alex Sobel22/01/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Deidre Brock24/01/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq24/01/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael29/01/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Farrelly02/02/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney05/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/02/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
David Crausby07/02/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse07/02/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper08/02/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin20/02/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Paul Girvan20/02/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Twigg20/02/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff17/04/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.