Parliament Website

Holocaust Memorial Day 2018

EDM number 743 in 2017-19, proposed by Bob Blackman on 08/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Racial discrimination, Religion and faith communities and Religious discrimination.

That this House notes that on 27 January 2018 the UK will observe Holocaust Memorial Day, marking the anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz-Birkenau, where an estimated 1.1 million people were murdered; commemorates the six million victims of the Holocaust; further notes that the theme for Holocaust Memorial Day 2018 is The power of words; pays tribute to the commitment of Holocaust survivors who share their experiences with young people across the country; acknowledges the importance of the Holocaust Educational Trust's work in schools across the UK and in particular the Lessons from Auschwitz Project, which has so far given over 30,000 students and teachers the opportunity to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau; also pays tribute to the Holocaust Memorial Day Trust for organising this year's Holocaust Memorial Day commemorations; notes that a Book of Commitment will be placed in the corridor between the Members' Cloakroom and Members' Staircase between the hours of 14.00 and 16.00 from 15 to 17 and 22 to 25 January; and urges all right hon. and hon. Members to sign the Book and observe the day, so that the appalling events of the Holocaust are always understood by future generations and recognising our shared commitment to challenging holocaust denial, distortion and denigration.

This motion has been signed by a total of 79 MPs.

Bob Blackman08/01/2018Harrow EastConservativeProposed
Pete Wishart08/01/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Paisley Jnr08/01/2018North AntrimDUPSeconded
Tom Brake08/01/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Catherine McKinnell08/01/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Lefroy08/01/2018StaffordConservativeSeconded
Stephen Doughty08/01/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley08/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
09/01/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Mearns09/01/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
John Mann09/01/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham09/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law09/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Henderson09/01/2018Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis09/01/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
09/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty09/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson09/01/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon09/01/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon09/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Martyn Day09/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards09/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stewart McDonald09/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Joan Ryan10/01/2018Signed
Mary Glindon10/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
David Amess10/01/2018Southend WestConservativeSigned
Caroline Spelman10/01/2018MeridenConservativeSigned
10/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss10/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd10/01/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Peter Aldous11/01/2018WaveneyConservativeSigned
Zac Goldsmith11/01/2018Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
Bob Neill11/01/2018Bromley and ChislehurstConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens11/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Phil Wilson15/01/2018SedgefieldLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan15/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer15/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts15/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown15/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman15/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
15/01/2018Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth15/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
15/01/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ronnie Cowan15/01/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard15/01/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Barry Sheerman15/01/2018HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/01/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas16/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
16/01/2018Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Michael Penning16/01/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Hannah Bardell17/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford17/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson18/01/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Edward Davey18/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes18/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Lucy Powell19/01/2018Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Ruth George19/01/2018Signed
Mhairi Black19/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Twigg22/01/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady22/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Nandy22/01/2018WiganLabourSigned
Louise Ellman22/01/2018Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn22/01/2018JarrowLabourSigned
23/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rupa Huq24/01/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
25/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Imran Hussain29/01/2018Bradford EastLabourSigned
Helen Hayes29/01/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
David Crausby07/02/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Evans20/02/2018IslwynLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron20/02/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Wes Streeting23/04/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Tim Farron21/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.