Parliament Website

Court Closures Across The UK

EDM number 839 in 2017-19, proposed by Mary Glindon on 22/01/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Courts.

That this House is deeply concerned by the Government's proposal to close nine further courts across the UK, displacing over 130 members of staff; notes that these proposals come at a time when staff morale has been damaged by previous closures, job cuts, pay restraint and privatisation threats; believes that these proposals would result in delays to cases being heard and members of the public having to travel further and for longer to access justice; further believes that the underuse of courts is primarily caused by legal aid cuts, increased court fees and a shortage of staff and judges; insists that unproven and unreliable digital processes such as virtual hearings should not be imposed on courts without a full evaluation of the impact on evidence quality and perception; and calls on the Government to halt these closures, consult relevant unions and review the entire courts closure programme.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Mary Glindon22/01/2018North TynesideLabourProposed
Liz Saville Roberts22/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Teresa Pearce22/01/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
Catherine West22/01/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner23/01/2018BolsoverLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon23/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Caroline Lucas23/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Cunningham23/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens23/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards23/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Marie Rimmer23/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Tim Farron23/01/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McNally24/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill24/01/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Thelma Walker25/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Ben Lake25/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Kinnock30/01/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon31/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Ruth George01/02/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn01/02/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney05/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Keith Vaz05/02/2018Leicester EastLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/02/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner08/02/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Ian Lucas20/02/2018WrexhamLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff21/02/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick05/03/2018PrestonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris05/03/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Chris Williamson22/03/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.