Parliament Website

100th Anniversary Of The Battle Of May Island

EDM number 859 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 24/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Military operations and Western Europe.

That this House notes the 100th anniversary of The Battle of May Island during which five accidental collisions occurred near the island between eight Royal Navy vessels on their way from Rosyth to fleet exercises in the North Sea on the misty night on 31 January 1918; further notes the accident resulted in the sinking of two Navy K-class submarines and, tragically, resulted in the deaths of over 100 Royal Navy service personnel; remembers the sacrifice of those men and of the importance of the Firth of the Forth during the First World War; and encourages members of the public to visit the memorial cairn commemorating the devastating event and the lives of those lost which is located at Anstruther harbour.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Brendan O'Hara24/01/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant24/01/2018GlenrothesScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Whitfield24/01/2018East LothianLabourSeconded
Douglas Chapman24/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon25/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day25/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Christine Jardine25/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley29/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Cunningham29/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Law29/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis30/01/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens30/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning31/01/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
David Simpson31/01/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart08/02/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.