Parliament Website

Impact Of Link Decision To Reduce The Atm Interchange Fee

EDM number 942 in 2017-19, proposed by Ruth George on 20/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions and Financial services.

That this House celebrates the long-standing availability of free-to-access cash in the UK and the positive impact the availability of cash has on local businesses, high street shops and consumers, especially in rural areas; recognises that the long term sustainability of the existing free-to-access cash network is now under threat, with UK banks no longer willing to pay the true cost of providing this service and reducing the current interchange fees by 20 per cent over the next four years; further recognises that this reduction will make many ATMs unviable, particularly in rural areas which are less cost effective to supply, but which are already underserviced; is concerned that this will disproportionately impact older and low-income groups and small businesses in these areas; and calls on the Government to facilitate the creation of a sustainable model that will maintain and develop the free-to-access cash network across all communities in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Ruth George20/02/2018Proposed
Peter Bottomley21/02/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day21/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens21/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards21/02/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Mary Glindon21/02/2018North TynesideLabourSeconded
Chris Law22/02/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
22/02/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Martin Docherty23/02/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan23/02/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart23/02/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma23/02/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth23/02/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
26/02/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
26/02/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
26/02/2018Ayr, Carrick and CumnockConservativeSigned
26/02/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally26/02/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John Spellar26/02/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Peter Aldous26/02/2018WaveneyConservativeSigned
Angela Smith26/02/2018Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
26/02/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Frank Field26/02/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned
26/02/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer27/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Edward Davey27/02/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
27/02/2018Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Lady Hermon27/02/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Alison Thewliss27/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham28/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson05/03/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Gethins05/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake05/03/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Bailey06/03/2018West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper06/03/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman07/03/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
12/03/2018South AntrimDUPSigned
Mhairi Black12/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hilary Benn13/03/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra22/03/2018Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby16/05/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.