Parliament Website

Asma Jahangir

EDM number 943 in 2017-19, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 20/02/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Human rights.

That this House mourns and pays its respects on the death of Asma Jahangir, the brave and remarkable Pakistani rights activist, staunch defender of the rule of law and fearless critic of military interference in politics; notes her reputation for speaking truth to power and defending the weak and marginalised, women and minorities against injustice, and her work for the rights of bonded labourers; further notes that she was the founding chair of the Human Rights Commission of Pakistan and the first female President of the Bar Association of the Pakistan Supreme Court, as well as serving as a UN rapporteur on human rights and extra-judicial killings; recalls that she was put under house arrest and later imprisoned during the regime of President Zia-ul-Haq for campaigning for women's rights and democracy, and again detained when she began a movement to restore democracy under the rule of President Musharraf; and sends condolences to her relatives and friends.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2018Luton NorthLabourProposed
Michael Penning21/02/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSeconded
Ronnie Campbell21/02/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley21/02/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martyn Day21/02/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon21/02/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Marie Rimmer21/02/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham21/02/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens21/02/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon21/02/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Law22/02/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman23/02/2018Harrow EastConservativeSigned
David Linden26/02/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss27/02/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon27/02/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Edward Davey27/02/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown28/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns01/03/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins05/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill06/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.