Parliament Website

British Medical Association Motions On Homeopathy

EDM number 342 in 2010-12, proposed by David Tredinnick on 29/06/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House regrets the decision taken at the Annual Representative Meeting of the British Medical Association to oppose further commissioning and funding of homeopathic remedies in the NHS; further regrets that doctors who opposed the motions were excluded from the meeting; notes that none of those voting on the issue had studied or had any experience of homeopathy; further notes that many of the 500 doctors trained in homeopathy in the UK prefer to use homeopathy, when appropriate, before using powerful allopathic drugs; further notes that surveys show that a large proportion of the population have at some time or other used homeopathy or herbal medicine; further notes that 140 books have been published on homeopathy and that there is overwhelming anecdotal evidence that homeopathy is effective, frequently in cases when patients have not found relief through conventional medical treatments; further notes that those who do not want homeopathic treatment or remedies are under no obligation to have or take them; believes that there should be further research in this area; and calls on the Government to maintain a policy of allowing health commissions to refer to homeopathic doctors and approved homeopaths when they think it appropriate.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

David Tredinnick29/06/2010BosworthConservativeProposed
Thomas Docherty29/06/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLabourSeconded
Margaret Hodge29/06/2010BarkingLabourSeconded
Anne McGuire29/06/2010StirlingLabourSeconded
Luciana Berger29/06/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSeconded
John Stevenson29/06/2010CarlisleConservativeSeconded
Glyn Davies29/06/2010MontgomeryshireConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz29/06/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Penny Mordaunt29/06/2010Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale30/06/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Halfon30/06/2010HarlowConservativeSigned
Andrew Stephenson01/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
John Robertson11/10/2010Glasgow North WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.