Parliament Website

Changes To Radio 4

EDM number 325 in 1997-98, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 30/07/1997.

That this House, concerned at the damage to settled listening habits and loyalties, the loss of popular programmes and the abdication of Radio Four's strong tradition of investigative journalism and informed analysis, asks the Governors of the BBC to think again about the scale of changes proposed in its schedule, the dumbing down of Radio Four by the introduction of endless celebrity chat shows and rag-bag magazine programmes and the relegation of serious analysis and investigation to times after 8 pm when the audience is small, as proposed by the new controller; considers that the Governors should bear in mind the lessons of Radio One and Radio Two where new controllers were allowed to introduce drastic and disturbing changes resulting in the loss of large sections of the audience, which is extremely difficult to win back in today's competitive radio market; and reminds the Corporation of the great benefits of leaving well alone, because the best hope of attracting large audiences for serious programming and for bringing in new younger listeners is to maintain and build on current levels of quality, the same high standards, the same varied programming and the same levels of intelligence and interest which have attracted the present listeners to a station offering quality intelligent radio of a type unmatched on the radio dial.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Austin Mitchell30/07/1997Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Nicholas Winterton30/07/1997MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
Joe Ashton30/07/1997BassetlawLabourSeconded
Richard Burden30/07/1997Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSeconded
Fabian Hamilton30/07/1997Leeds North EastLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones30/07/1997Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Debra Shipley30/07/1997StourbridgeLabourSigned
Denis MacShane30/07/1997RotherhamLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore31/07/1997HendonLabourSigned
Martin Bell31/07/1997TattonIndependentSigned
Norman Godman31/07/1997Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Ann Cryer31/07/1997KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn31/07/1997Islington NorthLabourSigned
Eric Clarke31/07/1997MidlothianLabourSigned
Anne Campbell31/07/1997CambridgeLabourSigned
John McDonnell31/07/1997Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone31/07/1997Brent EastLabourSigned
Nick Harvey31/07/1997North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner31/07/1997BolsoverLabourSigned
Alan Simpson31/07/1997Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bob Russell31/07/1997ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Mullin31/07/1997Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Tony Benn27/10/1997ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Ian Davidson28/10/1997Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Maria Fyfe28/10/1997Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Paul Keetch29/10/1997HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Cox29/10/1997TootingLabourSigned
Bill Michie29/10/1997Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/10/1997Luton NorthLabourSigned
Tony Colman30/10/1997PutneyLabourSigned
Eileen Gordon30/10/1997RomfordLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham03/11/1997Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham06/11/1997Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Michael Colvin06/11/1997RomseyConservativeSigned
Harry Barnes07/11/1997North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody10/11/1997Crewe & NantwichLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/11/1997Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alan MealeUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.