Parliament Website

Violence In Zimbabwe

EDM number 797 in 1999-00, proposed by Norman A Godman on 05/06/2000.

That this House notes with the most serious concern the relentless state-sponsored violence in Zimbabwe where blacks and white alike are being savagely murdered almost daily with an apparent impunity; deeply regrets that, following the brutal attack and wounding on Monday 29th May of Mr Nick Syrett, a British diplomat, only a few days later yet another white farmer was murdered; unequivocally condemns the perpetrators of these brutal acts; declares that the Zimbabwean government is ultimately responsible, under international laws, for the protection of the lives and property of all its citizens and other people who legally reside in that country; and supports all measures which Her Majesty's Government has taken, and continues to take, both in concern with other nations and in the United Nations, to facilitate the return to the rule of law and the active promotion of democracy, peace and prosperity in that country; and believes that until such comprehensive change is brought about, no British Government or EU funds should be offered to the government of Zimbabwe.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Norman Godman05/06/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourProposed
Paul Marsden06/06/2000Shrewsbury & AtchamLabourSigned
Eric Clarke06/06/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley07/06/2000Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock07/06/2000Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Maria Fyfe07/06/2000Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Bill Michie07/06/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
David Borrow08/06/2000South RibbleLabourSigned
Roy Beggs08/06/2000East AntrimUUPSigned
Win Griffiths08/06/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Vincent Cable08/06/2000TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John McWilliam08/06/2000BlaydonLabourSigned
Julian Lewis08/06/2000New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Lynne Jones08/06/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Colin Breed09/06/2000South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe12/06/2000LeighLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt12/06/2000Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
David Winnick13/06/2000Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington13/06/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara14/06/2000Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell15/06/2000Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Andrew George15/06/2000St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis15/06/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Brian White15/06/2000North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Alan Simpson21/06/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/06/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
David Crausby29/06/2000Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Harry Barnes05/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Tony McWalter06/07/2000Hemel HempsteadLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ian Stewart06/07/2000EcclesLabourSigned
Nigel Jones13/07/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin13/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar18/07/2000Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/07/2000ElthamLabourSigned
Tony Clarke27/07/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge28/07/2000Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.