Parliament Website

Action On Government Carbon Pollution

EDM number 1222 in 2007-08, proposed by Gregory Barker on 18/03/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Central government, Energy conservation and Environmental protection.

That this House notes that the Sustainable Development Commission report, Sustainable Development in Government 2007, published on 18th March, found that nearly two-thirds of government departments are not on track to meet their carbon emissions reduction targets; further notes that when the Ministry of Defence is discounted all performance improvements are negated and that carbon emissions from Civil Service estate offices have increased by 22 per cent. and energy efficiency has worsened by 3.3 per cent. on 2006 levels and that there has been only a 0.1 per cent. reduction in water use against a target of 25 per cent. by 2020; and urges the Government to lead by example in promoting sustainable business through enhancing efforts to reduce carbon pollution and the material consumption of the Government Estate.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Gregory Barker18/03/2008Bexhill and BattleConservativeProposed
Peter Ainsworth18/03/2008East SurreyConservativeSeconded
Robert Goodwill18/03/2008Scarborough and WhitbyConservativeSeconded
Anne McIntosh18/03/2008Vale of YorkConservativeSeconded
Bill Wiggin18/03/2008LeominsterConservativeSeconded
James Paice18/03/2008South East CambridgeshireConservativeSeconded
Oliver Letwin18/03/2008West DorsetConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan18/03/2008Chesham and AmershamConservativeSigned
Damian Green18/03/2008AshfordConservativeSigned
Justine Greening18/03/2008PutneyConservativeSigned
Nick Hurd18/03/2008Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Bob Spink19/03/2008Castle PointIndependent ConservativeSigned
Lynne Jones19/03/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell19/03/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley19/03/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson19/03/2008EastbourneConservativeSigned
Dai Davies20/03/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Michael Weir20/03/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/03/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming20/03/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew25/03/2008StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/03/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech26/03/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson26/03/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Taylor26/03/2008Esher and WaltonConservativeSigned
John McDonnell26/03/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell26/03/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Simpson26/03/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Peter Atkinson27/03/2008HexhamConservativeSigned
Eddie McGrady31/03/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer31/03/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable21/04/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Penning22/04/2008Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Bill Etherington24/04/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Mason28/10/2008Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.