Parliament Website

Mobility Component Of Disability Living Allowance For Children Under Three

EDM number 1404 in 2007-08, proposed by Martin Caton on 23/04/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Child care and Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House is concerned that current rules deny disabled children under three years of age the mobility component of disabled living allowance (DLA), meaning that their families get no help with mobility costs, no access to the Specialised Vehicle Fund and no exemption from vehicle excise duty; notes that some very young, severely disabled children need a range of heavy and bulky therapeutic equipment when they move from place to place, including special car seats and wheelchairs to aid postural management, standing frames to help hip joint development, feeding aids and particular foods and medicines; recognises that, often, these essential items cannot be accommodated in an ordinary family car; and, therefore, calls on the Government to review the rule that denies the mobility component of DLA to all children under the age of three in order to improve the quality of life of these severely disabled young children and their families.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Martin Caton23/04/2008GowerLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley23/04/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George23/04/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale24/04/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones24/04/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Drew24/04/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Paul Holmes24/04/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins25/04/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams25/04/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/04/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark28/04/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Desmond Turner28/04/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/04/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson28/04/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Francis28/04/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer28/04/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen28/04/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Colin Burgon28/04/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay28/04/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
David Simpson29/04/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
John Leech29/04/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing29/04/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis29/04/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mark Durkan29/04/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Cummings29/04/2008EasingtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell29/04/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Colin Breed29/04/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell29/04/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea29/04/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
John Horam30/04/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke30/04/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds30/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Bill Etherington01/05/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Jabez Foster07/05/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Janet Dean08/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley09/05/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson09/05/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Julie Morgan02/06/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.