Parliament Website

National Depression Week

EDM number 1422 in 2007-08, proposed by Jo Swinson on 24/04/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Mental health.

That this House notes that national depression week occurs between 21st and 26th April; further notes that depression is a common illness, which will affect one in five people during their lifetime; further notes that access to psychological therapies for depression, including Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, is still severely restricted; recognises that access to such therapy would not only have a huge impact on patients themselves, but also dramatically cut the number of people who are forced onto incapacity benefit because of their illness; urges the Government to fully implement the Layard proposals to ensure access to suitable psychological therapy for those who need it; and further urges the Government to move beyond mere treatment of mental illness and work to promote mental wellbeing across the nation to help reduce the incidence of future depression cases.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Jo Swinson24/04/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley25/04/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Michael Weir25/04/2008AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Devine25/04/2008LivingstonLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones25/04/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson28/04/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer28/04/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Williams28/04/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams28/04/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George28/04/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis28/04/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/04/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale28/04/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Andrew MacKinlay28/04/2008ThurrockLabourSigned
Paul Holmes28/04/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders28/04/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech29/04/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil29/04/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis29/04/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock29/04/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan29/04/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew29/04/2008StroudLabourSigned
Martin Caton29/04/2008GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore29/04/2008HendonLabourSigned
David Simpson29/04/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea29/04/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell29/04/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell29/04/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alistair Carmichael29/04/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke30/04/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Bruce30/04/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds30/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Paul Flynn30/04/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Phil Willis30/04/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming30/04/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington01/05/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sandra Osborne06/05/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty07/05/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster07/05/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Nick Harvey08/05/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean08/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Willie Rennie08/05/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies08/05/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/05/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark12/05/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins13/05/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Iris Robinson14/05/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
David Crausby14/05/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Adam Price15/05/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
David Heyes15/05/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith02/06/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Edward Davey02/06/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley02/06/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin24/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.