Parliament Website


EDM number 1530 in 2007-08, proposed by Mark Durkan on 09/05/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Child care, Roads and Taxation.

That this House notes that section 96 of the Finance Act 2001 introduced a reduced rate of five per cent. value added tax for children's car seats; further notes that HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) currently interpret this section to exclude fixed-base safety seats, which are increasingly the norm; recognises that 2006 legislation made it compulsory for all new models of cars to have ISOFIX points, the worldwide standard for installing children's car seats; regrets that HMRC is imposing a 17.5 per cent. value added tax rate on the new bases, which are an integral part of the easier to fit and safer children's car seats; wants the scope or interpretation of section 96 to be reviewed to keep pace with technological and legislative advances; and urges Treasury Ministers to take appropriate steps.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Mark Durkan09/05/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
David Drew12/05/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley12/05/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lynne Jones12/05/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Bob Spink13/05/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Gregory Campbell13/05/2008East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Iris Robinson13/05/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Meale13/05/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/05/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George13/05/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil13/05/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis14/05/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies14/05/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Robert Wareing14/05/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock14/05/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby14/05/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd14/05/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
David Simpson14/05/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Simpson14/05/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara15/05/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Frank Cook15/05/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Gavin Strang15/05/2008Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton15/05/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Michael Jabez Foster16/05/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2008Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/05/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/05/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer19/05/2008Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams19/05/2008ConwyLabourSigned
John Leech20/05/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson20/05/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell20/05/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Clare Short20/05/2008Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Janet Dean20/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady21/05/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Diane Abbott21/05/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Clive Betts21/05/2008Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSigned
David Anderson21/05/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
William McCrea02/06/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Bill Etherington02/06/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Desmond Turner02/06/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins03/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Paul Truswell03/06/2008PudseyLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott04/06/2008Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Stewart Hosie04/06/2008Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond04/06/2008Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Norman Baker05/06/2008LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson05/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus Robertson10/06/2008MorayScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dobbin11/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Michael Weir12/06/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart12/06/2008Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Anne Moffat17/06/2008East LothianLabourSigned
John Heppell19/06/2008Nottingham EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Austin30/06/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Roger Williams07/07/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Russell Brown15/07/2008Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce21/07/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.