Parliament Website

Muscular Dystrophy

EDM number 1553 in 2007-08, proposed by Alun Michael on 13/05/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House welcomes the publication of a new report by leading neuromuscular physiotherapists and clinicians as part of the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign's Building on the Foundations campaign; recognises that for many adults and children living in Wales with muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions physiotherapy is essential in maintaining the best quality of life, for the longest time possible; is concerned that many patients in Wales with neuromuscular conditions are being denied timely and ongoing physiotherapy on the NHS; notes that young adults often have their physiotherapy withdrawn when they reach adulthood; further notes the serious concerns raised in the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign's oral evidence to the Welsh Affairs Select Committee regarding cross-border arrangements; urges the Welsh Assembly Government to undertake a review of neuromuscular services; and calls on the Welsh Assembly Government to recognise neuromuscular services as a specialist service best delivered as part of a multidisciplinary team, to ensure improved standards of care for all patients with neuromuscular conditions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alun Michael13/05/2008Cardiff South and PenarthLabourProposed
Nigel Evans13/05/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/05/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lee Scott14/05/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale14/05/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Don Touhig14/05/2008IslwynLabourSeconded
David Crausby14/05/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Si14/05/2008Swansea EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams14/05/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis14/05/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dari Taylor14/05/2008Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/05/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Ainger14/05/2008Carmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Hywel Francis14/05/2008AberavonLabourSigned
David Drew14/05/2008StroudLabourSigned
Lynne Jones14/05/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon14/05/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Holmes14/05/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson14/05/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Simpson14/05/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Chris Ruane14/05/2008Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara15/05/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams15/05/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis15/05/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh15/05/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Gibson15/05/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/05/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp16/05/2008Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/05/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John Battle19/05/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Robert Wareing19/05/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Greg Pope20/05/2008HyndburnLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/05/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean20/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady21/05/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Anderson21/05/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Julie Morgan02/06/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith02/06/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/06/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Hamilton02/06/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Ian Taylor02/06/2008Esher and WaltonConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins03/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin11/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian LucasUnknownWithdrawn
Chris BryantUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.