Parliament Website

Stop The Drop Campaign

EDM number 1650 in 2007-08, proposed by Nigel Evans on 02/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Anti-social behaviour, Environmental protection, Nature conservation and Waste management.

That this House notes that across the UK an estimated 30 million tonnes of litter is collected and that it costs in excess of half a billion pounds per annum to clear the streets of the UK; recognises that the amount of litter dropped yearly in the UK has increased by 500 per cent. since the 1960s and that 1.3 million pieces of rubbish are dropped on Highways Agency roads alone every weekend; further notes that litter makes an area look dirty and uncared for and attracts more litter; understands that over 69,000 animals were killed or injured by litter last year in the UK; and calls on the Government to back publicly the Campaign to Protect Rural England's Stop the Drop campaign which aims to solve the litter and fly-tipping problems blighting the UK's countryside, cities and villages.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Nigel Evans02/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeProposed
Bob Russell02/06/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Spink02/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
Lynne Jones02/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Andrew George02/06/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Williams03/06/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd03/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
John Leech03/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton03/06/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton03/06/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
David Taylor03/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/06/2008GowerLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins03/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson03/06/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Paul Holmes03/06/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson03/06/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
James Gray04/06/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Dai Davies04/06/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
David Drew04/06/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore04/06/2008HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Denis Murphy04/06/2008WansbeckLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss04/06/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle04/06/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean04/06/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/06/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea06/06/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke10/06/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt10/06/2008SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis11/06/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Adam Price12/06/2008Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ian McCartney12/06/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Rowen16/06/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith18/06/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Karen Buck18/06/2008Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson18/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Horam19/06/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Crausby02/07/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Clive Efford07/07/2008ElthamLabourSigned
Chris BryantUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.