Parliament Website

Pigeon Racing

EDM number 1659 in 2007-08, proposed by Lyn Brown on 02/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Animal diseases, Animals and Sports.

That this House recognises the popularity of pigeon racing as a hobby across the country; notes that tens of thousands of people actively enjoy the sport in the UK, with the Royal Pigeon Racing Association alone having 37,000 members; further notes that thousands of jobs are dependent on the sport throughout the country and that enthusiasts raise very significant sums for a wide number of charities every year; is concerned that restrictions placed on pigeon racing during avian flu outbreaks both at home and abroad have a devastating effect upon the sport and its associated industries; welcomes the announcement of a new veterinary risk assessment by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) into pigeon racing and avian flu; and hopes that DEFRA may be able to reconsider some of the more disproportionate regulations currently in place on pigeon racing during avian flu outbreaks.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Lyn Brown02/06/2008West HamLabourProposed
Bob Spink02/06/2008Castle PointUKIPSeconded
David Taylor03/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Martin Caton03/06/2008GowerLabourSeconded
David Drew04/06/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell04/06/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd04/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Denis Murphy04/06/2008WansbeckLabourSigned
Ann Cryer04/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John Hemming05/06/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings05/06/2008EasingtonLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden05/06/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
David Anderson06/06/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Bob Russell09/06/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith09/06/2008Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Burgon10/06/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Bruce George10/06/2008Walsall SouthLabourSigned
David Hamilton11/06/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Phil Willis11/06/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Borrow11/06/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins12/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Ian McCartney12/06/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Janet Anderson12/06/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Roger Williams16/06/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen16/06/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood17/06/2008CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Horam19/06/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Mark Williams23/06/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods25/06/2008City of DurhamLabourSigned
Angus Robertson26/06/2008MorayScottish National PartySigned
Don Touhig30/06/2008IslwynLabourSigned
Dai Davies30/06/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Jim Devine01/07/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
David Crausby02/07/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey10/07/2008West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
John Mann14/07/2008BassetlawLabourSigned
Chris BryantUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.