Parliament Website


EDM number 1692 in 2007-08, proposed by Greg Knight on 04/06/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Railways.

That this House notes that it is 40 years since the last British Rail passenger steam train The Oliver Cromwell made its final journey from Liverpool to Carlisle; notes that the locomotive has now been restored in a four year project at the Great Central Railway workshops at Loughborough and congratulates those involved in the painstaking restoration; further notes that 3rd July marks the 70th anniversary of the world record-breaking run of the A4 steam locomotive Mallard which, near Little Bytham, achieved a world speed record of 126 mph for a steam locomotive which has never been surpassed; is pleased that this locomotive has been preserved for posterity and is currently at the National Railway Museum in York, but expresses concern that the locomotive is currently not in steam due to requiring substantial boiler work; congratulates the many steam railway enthusiasts in the UK who maintain historical railway locomotives and equipment for the benefit of present and future generations; and calls on the Government to ensure that the necessary funding is made available through the National Lottery Fund or otherwise to enable Mallard to be fully restored and once again brought into steam.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Greg Knight04/06/2008East YorkshireConservativeProposed
Louise Ellman04/06/2008Liverpool, RiversideLabourSeconded
Pete Wishart04/06/2008Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Robert Goodwill04/06/2008Scarborough and WhitbyConservativeSeconded
Robert Smith04/06/2008West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Cawsey04/06/2008Brigg and GooleLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle04/06/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn04/06/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George04/06/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith04/06/2008Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Lee Scott04/06/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton05/06/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
John Hemming05/06/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew05/06/2008StroudLabourSigned
Lynne Jones05/06/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/06/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice05/06/2008PendleLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/06/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore06/06/2008HendonLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/06/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams06/06/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale09/06/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster09/06/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/06/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams09/06/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Mark Hunter10/06/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/06/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis10/06/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton10/06/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson11/06/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd11/06/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Peter Luff11/06/2008Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Janet Dean11/06/2008BurtonLabourSigned
David Borrow11/06/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/06/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis11/06/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Phil Willis11/06/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies11/06/2008ShipleyConservativeSigned
Si11/06/2008Swansea EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/06/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Peter Soulsby12/06/2008Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins12/06/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Richard Taylor16/06/2008Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Paul Rowen16/06/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh18/06/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson18/06/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer20/06/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley26/06/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss26/06/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
David Heyes30/06/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff30/06/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Clive Efford07/07/2008ElthamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.