Parliament Website

Hydrocarbon Oil Duty

EDM number 2215 in 2007-08, proposed by Colin Challen on 09/10/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection, Oil, petrol and natural gas, Renewable energy, Taxation and Waste management.

That this House acknowledges the contribution that the waste oil recycling industry makes to the recovery of hazardous waste oil from the waste stream; welcomes the investment and innovation undertaken to convert hazardous waste oil into reusable product; further welcomes the fact that this product helps cut emissions, diverts waste oil from landfill, and conserves natural resources; notes with concern the effect that the proposed application of hydrocarbon oil duty at a rate of 9.29 pence per litre (equivalent to £105 per 1,000 kilograms) on this product from 1st November 2008 will have on the collection and reprocessing of waste fuel oil; and calls on the Government to review its decision not to apply the minimum rate of duty of 15 euros per 1,000 kilograms (broadly equivalent to £11.50 per 1,000 kilograms) on the use of waste fuel oil permitted by the Energy Products Directive.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Colin Challen09/10/2008Morley and RothwellLabourProposed
Andrew George13/10/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Flynn13/10/2008Newport WestLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins13/10/2008Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer13/10/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock14/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones14/10/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Colin Burgon14/10/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/10/2008GowerLabourSigned
David Drew14/10/2008StroudLabourSigned
David Taylor14/10/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Richard Taylor14/10/2008Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis15/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/10/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Janet Dean15/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd15/10/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan15/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Clapham16/10/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Battle16/10/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
John Leech20/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell20/10/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard20/10/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/10/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Howarth20/10/2008Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Hemming23/10/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams27/10/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jo Swinson29/10/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey30/10/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington30/10/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable03/11/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey06/11/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.