Parliament Website

Spectrum Pricing To The Maritime And Aeronautical Sectors

EDM number 2274 in 2007-08, proposed by Alistair Carmichael on 16/10/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Emergency services and Telecommunications.

That this House notes with concern Ofcom's consultation document Applying spectrum pricing to the Maritime and Aeronautical sectors, which proposes cost increases for the use of VHF radio frequencies; further notes with particular concern section 1.18 of the document which states `we are inviting views on whether charities whose objective is the safety of human life in an emergency should receive a discount'; recognises that the annual charge to the Royal National Lifeboat Institution (RNLI) could increase from £40,000 to £260,000; further notes that the RNLI is a national charity supported and financed by volunteers which provides a vital life-saving service; recognises the proposed cost increases will certainly threaten both local and national sea and mountain search and rescue charities across the country; believes that all charities whose `objective is the safety of human life' should receive a full 100 per cent. discount on using radio frequencies; and calls on Ofcom to withdraw its current proposals and enter into a process to introduce a 100 per cent. discount for those vital life-saving services.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Alistair Carmichael16/10/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley16/10/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Menzies Campbell20/10/2008North East FifeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Smith20/10/2008West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders20/10/2008TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock20/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan21/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dai Davies21/10/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Mark Hunter21/10/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil21/10/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John Leech21/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Danny Alexander21/10/2008Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis21/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Nigel Evans21/10/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Sandra Osborne21/10/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Michael Moore21/10/2008Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Kennedy21/10/2008Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones21/10/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Reid21/10/2008Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett22/10/2008Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Featherstone22/10/2008Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt22/10/2008SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster22/10/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Mark Oaten22/10/2008WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne McGuire22/10/2008StirlingLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/10/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Don Foster22/10/2008BathLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh23/10/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins23/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Susan Kramer23/10/2008Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson27/10/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams27/10/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso27/10/2008Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen27/10/2008Ynys MLabourSigned
William McCrea27/10/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/10/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty27/10/2008Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Alan Simpson28/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke28/10/2008Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams28/10/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie29/10/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Gwyn Prosser29/10/2008DoverLabourSigned
Nick Harvey30/10/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron30/10/2008Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy30/10/2008Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey06/11/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hugo Swire06/11/2008East DevonConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell10/11/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling10/11/2008Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Paul Truswell11/11/2008PudseyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.