Parliament Website

Support For Homeowners In Scotland

EDM number 2330 in 2007-08, proposed by Anne McGuire on 22/10/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Economic situation and Housing.

That this House congratulates the Government for its announcement of new guidance for the judiciary to halt court action on repossessions unless alternative options have been considered; notes that the measures are an important and significant support to homeowners to protect them during the current global economic slowdown; further notes that this guidance sets out steps lenders are expected to take before bringing a claim to court and further notes that it applies throughout England and Wales; and therefore calls upon the Government to ensure that the devolved SNP administration in Scotland is provided with details of this guidance, and is encouraged to implement similar measures so that homeowners in Scotland can be afforded the same protection as those afforded to homeowners in England and Wales by the Labour Government.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Anne McGuire22/10/2008StirlingLabourProposed
David Hamilton22/10/2008MidlothianLabourSeconded
David Cairns22/10/2008InverclydeLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan22/10/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Tom Clarke22/10/2008Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Katy Clark22/10/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Rosemary McKenna22/10/2008Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastLabourSigned
Brian H Donohoe22/10/2008Central AyrshireLabourSigned
Anne Begg22/10/2008Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Jim Devine22/10/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones23/10/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/10/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson28/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis28/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Janet Dean29/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Frank Doran29/10/2008Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock29/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson29/10/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
John Cummings30/10/2008EasingtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley04/11/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling10/11/2008Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Gordon Banks17/11/2008Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/11/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.