Parliament Website

Access To Insulin Pump Therapy For People With Type 1 Diabetes

EDM number 39 in 2007-08, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 06/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health finance, Health services and Medicine.

That this House welcomes Diabetes UK's campaign to end the postcode lottery for insulin pump therapy; believes that making a small change through providing the technology can make a big difference to the lives of people with diabetes; notes the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) recommendation that insulin pump therapy should be available as a treatment option for people with type 1 diabetes in cases where multiple dose insulin therapy has failed, and the person is willing and able to use insulin pump therapy effectively; notes with concern that this guidance is not being adhered to locally in a uniform manner; is aware that currently only two per cent. of people with type 1 diabetes use pumps in the UK, compared to 10 to 20 per cent. in other European member states and around 15 to 20 per cent. in the United States; believes that the use of pumps can have cost benefits to the local NHS through a reduction in primary care contracts, reduction in hospital admissions and hospital outpatient contracts; and calls on the Government to oversee the implementation of NICE guidance by primary care organisations to end the postcode lottery.

This motion has been signed by a total of 63 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Adrian Sanders06/11/2007TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George06/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell06/11/2007ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lee Scott06/11/2007Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley07/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Keetch07/11/2007HerefordLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Holmes07/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Hunter07/11/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh08/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake08/11/2007Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew08/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
Rudi Vis08/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech08/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies08/11/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
David Crausby12/11/2007Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams12/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley12/11/2007RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway12/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Lindsay Hoyle12/11/2007ChorleyLabourSigned
David Simpson13/11/2007Upper BannDUPSigned
David Heath13/11/2007Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey13/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan13/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Jabez Foster13/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell13/11/2007PudseyLabourSigned
Phil Willis14/11/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton14/11/2007MidlothianLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/11/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith14/11/2007Bristol North WestLabourSigned
William McCrea14/11/2007South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams15/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
John Austin19/11/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Roger Williams19/11/2007Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson19/11/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Horam20/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
David Anderson20/11/2007BlaydonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard21/11/2007WalthamstowLabourSigned
Paul Rowen21/11/2007RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds28/11/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing04/12/2007Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Edward O'Hara06/12/2007Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans06/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
John McDonnell11/12/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Simon Hughes13/12/2007North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley13/12/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady17/12/2007South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Bercow08/01/2008BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/01/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Julie Morgan17/01/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
David Taylor12/06/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
David MarshallUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.